Time frames & Updates - Learn more.

PAY LATER   |   HELP   |   CONTACT US

Council Approvals in Victoria

Erecting a shed in Victoria is much less complicated than many other states in Australia, with only a few guidelines that will determine if you need to seek council approval.

Garden sheds will not require a council permit or approval in Victoria if the following guidelines below are met:

  • * Have a floor area of no greater than 10m²
  • * located no further forward than the front wall of the single dwelling
  • * 3m or less in height, or, if situated within 1m of a boundary, is no more than 2.4m in height

If your garden shed does not fulfill all of the above requirements, you will need to lodge a building application with your local council and have it assessed by a building certifier.

Please note:

* We strongly recommend you discuss the proposed location of the garden shed with your neighbour(s) should you intend on locating the shed up to the side or rear boundary, or intend to use reflective material.

Contact your local council in VIC

CouncilWebsiteEmail
Alpine Shire Councilhttp://www.ararat.vic.gov.au/index/homecouncil@ararat.vic.gov.au
Ararat Rural City Councilhttp://www.ararat.vic.gov.au/index/home council@ararat.vic.gov.au
Ballarat City Councilhttp://www.ballarat.vic.gov.au/ ballcity@ballarat.vic.gov.au
Banyule City Councilhttp://www.banyule.vic.gov.au/Home enquiries@banyule.vic.gov.au
Bass Coast Shire Councilhttp://www.basscoast.vic.gov.au/Home basscoast@basscoast.vic.gov.au
Baw Baw Shire Councilhttp://www.bawbawshire.vic.gov.au/Home bawbaw@bawbawshire.vic.gov.au
Bayside City Councilhttp://www.bayside.vic.gov.au/index.htm enquiries@bayside.vic.gov.au
Benalla Rural City Councilhttp://www.benalla.vic.gov.au/ council@benalla.vic.gov.au
Boroondara City Councilhttp://www.boroondara.vic.gov.au/ boroondara@boroondara.vic.gov.au
Brimbank City Councilhttp://www.brimbank.vic.gov.au/Homepage_Links info@brimbank.vic.gov.au
Buloke Shire Councilhttp://www.buloke.vic.gov.au/ buloke@buloke.vic.gov.au
Campaspe Shire Councilhttp://www.campaspe.vic.gov.au/ shire@campaspe.vic.gov.au
Cardinia Shire Councilhttp://www.cardinia.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx mail@cardinia.vic.gov.au
Casey City Councilhttp://www.casey.vic.gov.au/Home caseycc@casey.vic.gov.au
Central Goldfields Shire Councilhttp://www.centralgoldfields.com.au/ mail@cgoldshire.vic.gov.au
Colac Otway Shire Councilhttp://www.colacotway.vic.gov.au/ inq@colacotway.vic.gov.au
Corangamite Shire Councilhttp://www.corangamite.vic.gov.au/ shire@corangamite.vic.gov.au
Darebin City Councilhttp://www.darebin.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx mailbox@darebin.vic.gov.au
East Gippsland Shire Councilhttp://www.eastgippsland.vic.gov.au/Home feedback@egipps.vic.gov.au
Frankston City Councilhttp://www.frankston.vic.gov.au/Home correspondence@frankston.vic.gov.au
Gannawarra Shire Councilhttp://www.gannawarra.vic.gov.au/ council@gannawarra.vic.gov.au
Glen Eira City Councilhttp://www.gleneira.vic.gov.au/Home mail@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Glenelg Shire Councilhttp://www.glenelg.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx enquiry@glenelg.vic.gov.au
Golden Plains Shire Councilhttp://www.goldenplains.vic.gov.au/page.aspx enquiries@gplains.vic.gov.au
Greater Bendigo City Councilhttps://www.bendigo.vic.gov.au/Home request@bendigo.vic.gov.au
Greater Dandenong City Councilhttp://www.greaterdandenong.com/ council@cgd.vic.gov.au
Greater Geelong City Councilhttp://www.geelongaustralia.com.au/ contactus@geelongcity.vic.gov.au
Greater Shepparton City Councilhttp://www.greatershepparton.com.au/ council@shepparton.vic.gov.au
Hepburn Shire Councilhttp://www.hepburn.vic.gov.au/ shire@hepburn.vic.gov.au
Hindmarsh Shire Councilhttp://www.hindmarsh.vic.gov.au/ info@hindmarsh.vic.gov.au
Hobsons Bay City Councilhttp://www.hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au/Home customerservice@hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au
Horsham Rural City Councilhttp://www.hrcc.vic.gov.au/ council@hrcc.vic.gov.au
Hume City Councilhttp://www.hume.vic.gov.au/Homepage contactus@hume.vic.gov.au
Indigo Shire Councilhttp://www.indigoshire.vic.gov.au/Home indigoshire@indigoshire.vic.gov.au
Kingston City Councilhttp://www.kingston.vic.gov.au/Home info@kingston.vic.gov.au
Knox City Councilhttp://www.knox.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx knoxcc@knox.vic.gov.au
Latrobe City Councilhttp://www.latrobe.vic.gov.au/Home latrobe@latrobe.vic.gov.au
Loddon Shire Councilhttp://www.loddon.vic.gov.au/Home loddon@loddon.vic.gov.au
Macedon Ranges Shire Councilhttp://www.mrsc.vic.gov.au/Home mrsc@mrsc.vic.gov.au
Manningham City Councilhttp://www.manningham.vic.gov.au/ manningham@manningham.vic.gov.au
Mansfield Shire Councilhttp://www.mansfield.vic.gov.au/home.aspx council@mansfield.vic.gov.au
Maribyrnong City Councilhttp://www.maribyrnong.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx email@maribyrnong.vic.gov.au
Maroondah City Councilhttp://www.maroondah.vic.gov.au/default.aspx maroondah@maroondah.vic.gov.au
Melbourne City Councilhttp://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/Pages/default.aspx admin@melbourne.vic.gov.au
Melton City Councilhttp://www.melton.vic.gov.au/Home csu@melton.vic.gov.au
Mildura Rural City Councilhttp://www.mildura.vic.gov.au/Home mrcc@mildura.vic.gov.au
Mitchell Shire Councilhttp://www.mitchellshire.vic.gov.au/ mitchell@mitchellshire.vic.gov.au
Moira Shire Councilhttp://www.moira.vic.gov.au/Home webmaster@moira.vic.gov.au
Monash City Councilhttp://www.monash.vic.gov.au/Home mail@monash.vic.gov.au
Moonee Valley City Councilhttp://www.mvcc.vic.gov.au/ council@mvcc.vic.gov.au
Moorabool Shire Councilhttp://www.moorabool.vic.gov.au/ info@moorabool.vic.gov.au
Moreland City Councilhttp://www.moreland.vic.gov.au/ info@moreland.vic.gov.au
Mornington Peninsula Shire Councilhttp://www.mornpen.vic.gov.au/Home customerservice@mornpen.vic.gov.au
Mount Alexander Shire Councilhttps://www.mountalexander.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx info@mountalexander.vic.gov.au
Moyne Shire Councilhttp://www.moyne.vic.gov.au/Home moyne@moyne.vic.gov.au
Murrindindi Shire Councilhttp://www.murrindindi.vic.gov.au/Home msc@murrindindi.vic.gov.au
Nillumbik Shire Councilhttp://www.nillumbik.vic.gov.au/Home nillumbik@nillumbik.vic.gov.au
Northern Grampians Shire Councilhttp://www.ngshire.vic.gov.au/Home ngshire@ngshire.vic.gov.au
Port Phillip City Councilhttp://www.portphillip.vic.gov.au/index.htm assist@portphillip.vic.gov.au
Pyrenees Shire Councilhttp://www.pyrenees.vic.gov.au/Home pyrenees@pyrenees.vic.gov.au
Queenscliffe Borough Councilhttp://www.queenscliffe.vic.gov.au/ info@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au
South Gippsland Shire Councilhttp://www.southgippsland.vic.gov.au/ council@southgippsland.vic.gov.au
Southern Grampians Shire Councilhttp://www.sthgrampians.vic.gov.au/ council@sthgrampians.vic.gov.au
Stonnington City Councilhttp://www.stonnington.vic.gov.au/ council@stonnington.vic.gov.au
Strathbogie Shire Councilhttp://www.strathbogie.vic.gov.au/ info@strathbogie.vic.gov.au
Surf Coast Shire Councilhttp://www.surfcoast.vic.gov.au/Home info@surfcoast.vic.gov.au
Swan Hill Rural City Councilhttp://www.swanhill.vic.gov.au/ council@swanhill.vic.gov.au
Towong Shire Councilhttp://www.towong.vic.gov.au/ info@towong.vic.gov.au
Wangaratta Rural City Councilhttp://www.wangaratta.vic.gov.au/ council@wangaratta.vic.gov.au
Warrnambool City Councilhttp://www.warrnambool.vic.gov.au/ wbool_city@warrnambool.vic.gov.au
Wellington Shire Councilhttp://www.wellington.vic.gov.au/Home enquiries@wellington.vic.gov.au
West Wimmera Shire Councilhttp://www.westwimmera.vic.gov.au/ council@westwimmera.vic.gov.au
Whitehorse City Councilhttp://www.whitehorse.vic.gov.au/ customer.service@whitehorse.vic.gov.au
Whittlesea City Councilhttps://www.whittlesea.vic.gov.au/ info@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
Wodonga City Councilhttp://www.wodonga.vic.gov.au/ info@wodonga.vic.gov.au
Wyndham City Councilhttp://www.wyndham.vic.gov.au/ mail@wyndham.vic.gov.au
Yarra City Councilhttp://www.yarracity.vic.gov.au/ Info@yarracity.vic.gov.au
Yarra Ranges Shire Councilhttp://www.yarraranges.vic.gov.au/Home mail@yarraranges.vic.gov.au
Yarriambiack Shire Councilhttp://yarriambiack.vic.gov.au/ info@yarriambiack.vic.gov.au