Time frames & Updates - Learn more.


Council Approvals in Tasmania

If you intend on erecting a garden shed in Tasmania, you will not need to apply for a planning and building permit from your local council as long as you meet all of the below guidelines:

  • * Less than 9.0m2 in area (eg. 3m x 3m);
  • * Walls less than 3.0m in length;
  • * Pitch of roof less than 25o;
  • * No part of the shed higher than 2.4m above natural ground level;
  • * House must not be Heritage listed or in a Heritage Area;
  • * Built in rear yard;
  • * Only one shed installed on the block.

Should you also wish to also avoid applying for a plumbing permit, the garden shed will need to comply with the following guideline:

* Roof area less than 9m2

Please note:

* We strongly recommend you discuss the proposed location of the garden shed with your neighbour(s) should you intend on locating the shed up to the side or rear boundary, or intend to use reflective material.

Contact your local council in TAS

Break O'Day Councilhttp://www.bodc.tas.gov.au admin@bodc.tas.gov.au
Brighton Councilhttp://www.brighton.tas.gov.au admin@brighton.tas.gov.au
Burnie City Councilhttp://www.burnie.net burnie@burnie.net
Central Coast Councilhttp://www.centcoast.tas.gov.au admin@centralcoast.tas.gov.au
Central Highlands Councilhttp://www.centralhighlands.tas.gov.au council@centralhighlands.tas.gov.au
Circular Head Councilhttp://www.circularhead.tas.gov.au council@circularhead.tas.gov.au
City of Hobarthttp://www.hobartcity.com.au hcc@hobartcity.com.au
City of Launcestonhttp://www.launceston.tas.gov.au council@launceston.tas.gov.au
Clarence City Councilhttp://www.ccc.tas.gov.au clarence@ccc.tas.gov.au
Derwent Valley Councilhttp://www.derwentvalley.tas.gov.au dvcouncil@dvc.tas.gov.au
Devonport City Councilhttp://www.dcc.tas.gov.au council@devonport.tas.gov.au
Dorset Councilhttp://www.dorset.tas.gov.au dorset@dorset.tas.gov.au
Flinders Councilhttp://www.flinders.tas.gov.au office@flinders.tas.gov.au
George Town Councilhttp://www.georgetown.tas.gov.au council@georgetown.tas.gov.au
Glamorgan/Spring Bay Councilhttp://www.gsbc.tas.gov.au admin@freycinet.tas.gov.au
Glenorchy City Councilhttp://www.gcc.tas.gov.au gccmail@gcc.tas.gov.au
Huon Valley Councilhttp://www.huonvalley.tas.gov.au hvc@huonvalley.tas.gov.au
Kentish Councilhttp://www.kentish.tas.gov.au council@kentish.tas.gov.au
Kingborough Councilhttp://www.kingborough.tas.gov.au kc@kingborough.tas.gov.au
King Island Councilhttp://www.kingisland.tas.gov.au kicouncil@kingisland.tas.gov.au
Latrobe Councilhttp://www.latrobe.tas.gov.au council@latrobe.tas.gov.au
Meander Valley Councilhttp://www.meander.tas.gov.au mail@mvc.tas.gov.au
Northern Midlands Councilhttp://www.northernmidlands.tas.gov.au council@northmidlands.tas.gov.au
Sorell Councilhttp://www.sorell.tas.gov.au sorell.council@sorell.tas.gov.au
Southern Midlands Councilhttp://www.southernmidlands.tas.gov.au mail@southernmidlands.tas.gov.au
Tasman Councilhttp://www.tasman.tas.gov.au tasman@tasman.tas.gov.au
Waratah - Wynyard Councilhttp://www.warwyn.tas.gov.au council@warwyn.tas.gov.au
West Coast Councilhttp://www.westcoast.tas.gov.au wcc@westcoast.tas.gov.au
West Tamar Councilhttp://www.wtc.tas.gov.au/ wtc@wtc.tas.gov.au