Council Approvals in South Australia

In South Australia, you will be required to apply for Development Approval for a garden shed or similar structure if:

  • * Its use is more than secondary to a house (e.g. a separate house or business); and/or
  • * The floor area exceeds 15m² (10m² in the North Adelaide Historic Conservation Zone); and/or
  • * The width or length exceeds 3m and no part of the building is more than 2.5m above the natural surface of the ground and/or
  • * Is being constructed, added to or altered so that any portion is:
    - situated in closer to the street than the main building on the land
    - is within 900mm of a boundary of the land with a secondary street (if the land has frontage to more than 1 road
  • It is located within 6m of a corner boundary that faces two roads, other than where a 4m by 4m corner cut off has been provided and/or
  • If your property is identified as a Local or State Heritage Place

The following elements should be incorporated into the design of sheds, garages, carports, verandahs, pergolas and shade houses, particularly if they are located on side boundaries:

  • * A size and shape that complements and does not dominate the existing house or nearby houses;
  • * Building materials, colours and textures that complement the existing house or nearby houses; and
  • * Minimal overshadowing of the windows and private open space of adjoining properties.

Please note:

* We strongly recommend you discuss the proposed location of the garden shed with your neighbour(s) should you intend on locating the shed up to the side or rear boundary, or intend to use reflective material.

Contact your local council in SA

Council Website Email
Adelaide City Council
Adelaide Hills Council
Alexandrina Council
The Barossa Council
District Council of Barunga West
Berri Barmera Council
The City of Burnside
Campbelltown City Council
District Council Ceduna
City of Charles Sturt
Clare & Gilbert Valleys Council
District Council of Cleve
District Council of Coober Pedy
The Coorong District Council
District Council of the Copper Coast
District Council of Elliston
The Flinders Ranges Council
District Council of Franklin Harbour
Town of Gawler
Regional Council of Goyder
District Council of Grant
City of Holdfast Bay
Kangaroo Island Council
District Council of Karoonda East Murray
District Council of Kimba
Kingston District Council
Wudinna District Council
Light Regional Council
District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula
District Council of Loxton Waikerie
District Council of Mallala
City of Marion
Mid Murray Council
City of Mitcham
District Council of Mt Barker
City of Mt Gambier
District Council of Mt Remarkable
The Rural City of Murray Bridge
Naracoorte Lucindale Council
Northern Areas Council
The City Of Norwood, Payneham & St Peters
City of Onkaparinga
District Council of Orroroo Carrieton
District Council of Peterborough
City of Playford
City of Port Adelaide Enfield
Port Augusta City Council
City of Pt Lincoln
Port Pirie Regional Council
City of Prospect
District Council of Renmark Paringa
District Council of Robe
Municipal Council of Roxby Downs
City of Salisbury
Southern Mallee District Council
District Council of Streaky Bay
Tatiara District Council
City of Tea Tree Gully
District Council of Tumby Bay
City of Unley
City of Victor Harbor
Wakefield Regional Council
Corporation of the Town of Walkerville
Wattle Range Council
City of West Torrens
District Council of Yankalilla
Yorke Peninsula Council
The Corporation of the City of Whyalla